Quick and yummy! Cheesy Enchilada Quinoa in the Instant Pot

So, doesn’t the title alone make you hungry?  What about this picture?

20170119_190422

This was my supper one day last week and it was easy to make and quick!  I am in a Plexus health challenge group this month and part of it involves meal planning.  We are given a  meal plan each week to work with when doing our own meal plans.

The cheesy enchilada quinoa was one of the recipes provided in the second week of our group.  It is actually a slow cooker recipe but I chose to use my Instant Pot (pressure cooker) to make it quicker for me.  Check it out HERE on Amazon, if you are interested in learning more or getting one.

20160717_183802

The original recipe can be found HERE on Chelsea’s Messy Apron.

chelseasmessyapron

The recipe is great just as it is but usually I alter a few things when I am cooking.  The first thing is the meat, the recipe calls for ground turkey but I didn’t have any on hand so I subbed pulled pork because I had a ton left over from the weekend.  Corn was the second thing I swapped in the recipe because I didn’t have frozen.  I used a can of whole kernel.  Lastly, I did not put the cheese in the pot while it was cooking.

If you read the ingredients, you can see there are a few that can get spicy if you get carried away.  I didn’t realize the enchilada sauce I bought was spicy (which is fine with  me, but I have to be careful for my hubby).  One thing I did was rinse the rotel tomatoes to get a little spice out.  I also put just a shake of chili powder instead of what is listed.

Now, here is what I did!  I put the meat and all of the ingredients (except corn and cheese) in the Instant Pot, set it to manual for 15 minutes.  Once it finished, I let it slow release for a few minutes and then added the corn and mixed it in well.  After I put the corn in, I let it sit on warm for a little bit.  Once we got ready to eat, I added the cheese on the individual plates! Yum!  The reason for this is a dairy intolerance in the family.  My husband ate his over scoop tortilla chips and I ate mine over spinach.

So, see? It is so easy to use the Instant Pot and this recipe is delicious!  If you try it, let me know what you think!

God Bless!

Lee Ann

 

2 thoughts on “Quick and yummy! Cheesy Enchilada Quinoa in the Instant Pot”

Leave a Reply

