IP Whole Chicken and Bone Broth

Do you have a whole chicken in the freezer?  I feel like I am unprepared if I don’t have a whole chicken in the freezer.  Just me?  That ‘s okay!

Well, today I am going to walk you through how I fix a whole chicken in my Instant Pot and what I do with the remains. (Bet you can’t guess! oh, well I guess you can!)

First make sure your chicken is thawed out and you pull out the parts that are tucked inside.  Like these:

20170211_122707
Yea, it’s a little gross but can make gravy if you want!

Okay, so your next step is to season your chicken however you would like.  This is where you can get creative or keep it simple.  I tend to keep it simple and use what I want for my broth since I make that using the leftovers of the chicken.

What I like to use: salt, pepper, minced garlic, onion, celery and bell pepper.  I don’t always have these on hand fresh, so my bare minimum would be the salt, pepper, minced garlic or garlic powder, onion powder.

Put the trivet in your Instant Pot and set your seasoned chicken and veggies in it.  You will then add 1 to 1 1/2 cup of water.  Close it up and don’t forget to check your vent!  Now for the settings.  What I have found after doing a few and a little research is 6 minutes per pound plus 2 minutes.  So if you have a 6 lb chicken, you would cook it for 38 minutes, (6 x 6 = 36 +2 = 38).  This can be adjusted to your liking also.  If you want it to fall apart or if you want your chicken still intact.

So when it finishes, you will have something like this:

20170211_134319
I love these tongs because they are so big!

Okay, so now you have chicken to eat for supper and next week I am going to talk about a few things to do with the leftovers!  Once you get the meat off the bones, you will have a nice plate like this!

20170211_140503

and you will have this mess!

20170211_140455

Take all the mess and put it back in your Instant Pot.  If you didn’t have any veggies in there the first time, you might want to round some up and add them.  Again, just whatever you have but usually I put an onion, peppers, and celery.  You will also add 1 to 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar (for fun sometimes I use 3) and 1 teaspoon of salt.  Fill your pot up with water to about 2/3 full.  If you have time at this point, let it sit for about 30 minutes.  I don’t do this that often but it does help the vinegar to start working on the bones.  Last, close it up and put in the settings.  Use the soup option and set it to low pressure for 120 minutes.  Let it do a natural pressure release.  The last step is to strain your broth and package it up for later!

20170212_210755

I just use a colander covered with cheesecloth to strain my broth.  I use ziploc bags and freeze them. A lot of people use jars to store the broth also.

20170212_212255

Now you have dinner for a couple of nights, bone broth with lots of healthy benefits and all in a short amount of time!  Yay for the Instant Pot!

20170211_120258
Clean up!

I do want to give you a little advice, don’t wait to clean up.  Or at least clean the lid, specifically the silicone ring inside the lid.  If you don’t the smell will stick around!  Some people order extra rings and actually use them for specific types of food, like red for savory and and black for sweet.  I plan on doing this in the near future.

Well, I hope you are enjoying the Instant Pot posts, I definitely am having fun doing it!

God bless,

Lee Ann

Leave a Reply

