Mississippi Chicken in the Instant Pot

Last week, I saw a video on YouTube by Kimmy from She’s in Her Apron where she prepared a recipe called Mississippi Chicken.  She used her crockpot to prepare it but I wanted to try  it in my Instant Pot.  You know how I love my Instant Pot!!  You can check out her video HERE and the Instant Pot HERE.

Kimmy got the recipe from the website recipesthatcrock.com and HERE is the link for it.  It lists all of the ingredients and portions.  But basically you use frozen chicken thighs, a ranch dressing packet, a brown gravy packet, butter and pepperoncinis.

20170226_183707b
All the ingredients, except butter.  Can you believe I forgot butter???

Okay, so the first thing I did differently was use frozen chicken breasts instead of frozen chicken thighs.  When I bought these chicken breasts apparently I was in a hurry because they were still in the original packaging inside the vacuum sealed package. MISTAKE!  It took more than a minute to get the tray and little pad thing off of the back of them.

Once I got the package off, I just broke off  one chicken breast to fit it down in the pot.  I did use the trivet to set the chicken on and put about a cup of water down in the bottom.  Mix up the ranch and brown gravy packets and spread them over the chicken.  Then you slice up the butter and place it around on the chicken.  Lastly put the pepperoncinis on top of it all!  I used sliced ones but the recipe calls for whole ones.  I don’t think it matters either way.

20170226_185759
Before cooking once it is all in the pot!

So, I put it on manual for 18 minutes and let it do a natural pressure release for 20 minutes.  And it took about 25 minutes to come to pressure.  Now some people will say that you didn’t save any time doing this, but keep in mind that I started with frozen chicken and I didn’t have to touch the pot once I set the time on it.  🙂

20170226_194200
After cooking!

So for our supper this night, I roasted some broccoli and cauliflower with a little olive oil, garlic powder and salt and pepper.  Yummy!!! And some homemade dinner rolls!

20170226_200310

So it was a success!  It was a tasty dinner that my husband and I enjoyed a lot.  If you try it, be sure and let me know!!

Also, are there any recipes you enjoy that you would like to see done in the Instant Pot?  I can’t promise but I will try to do an Instant Pot version.

Have a great day and God bless!

Lee Ann

Leave a Reply

